Honorable Mention: Zoup

Zoup on Polaris Parkway

Zoup on Polaris Parkway

Click to add a blog post for Zoup! The Fresh Soup Company on Zomato

Home

Zoup is restaurant that dishes out soup (really, no joke), salads, and sandwiches. To be honest, I thought Katina was jerking my chain when she suggested we stop there and grab lunch. I had a preconceived idea of what we’d be walking into, and it was oddly similar to the “Soup Nazi” episode of Seinfeld. I wondered if I made too much eye contact or tweaked my order I’d get that “No soup for you” shouted at me by and someone who bore a remarkable resemblance to Freddy Mercury.

But that’s why Katina is the smart one and I’m the pretty one. She was right again. Zoup was awesome. First, they have a robust website that allows you to order online (which is a big plus in Katina’s opinion). And the website has the nutritional content of all their offerings. Second, the inside of the place was very clean and the service was very friendly. We stopped shortly after I started my new healthy diet, so I was very concerned with sodium content. Do any of you know how much salt is in soup? Next time you are at the grocery store, try to find a can of soup that doesn’t have an obscene amount of salt in it (if you do, post a comment so I can pick some up). It’s almost impossible to do. I though freshly made soup would be lower in sodium, but looking at the nutritional data on the Zoup website proves me wrong. Salt city, my friends. So instead, both Katina and I opted for salads. Katina ordered the Asian salad and I snagged a Loco Burrito salad. The salads were customizable (that is a word, isn’t it?) which was nice. And the salads were huge (with 1/3 of the sodium as the soups) so a whole salad was really all you’d need for lunch. We were both impressed with the quality of the ingredients as well as friendly service. Not sure where they found the two young guys working behind the counter on the day we visited, but they seemed to have a real thing for slinging soup. And while our salads weren’t the cheapest you can find, they were worth every penny spent.

We highly recommend Zoup. It offers a nice change of pace from the traditional lunch offerings. But if your into eating healthy, we’d also recommend going online first and checking out the nutritional information on their offerings. If you really don’t care, then the menu is wide open for you..enjoy, and let us know how you liked it.

Leave a comment